This site is not maintained. Click here for the new website of Richard Dawkins.

A Short Story: David

Hi there,

I wrote this little story simply for personal amusement but afterwards decided that maybe people here might enjoy it too. I'm not a professional writer so perhaps the grammar isn't always perfect, but it's simply just a bit of fun anyway. Enjoy!

With the ground lying just beyond the reach of his feet, David’s legs were free to swing playfully as he sat perched on the edge of the bus stop seat. Beside him sat Barbara, quietly eyeing the road ahead for the arrival of the No.27.

‘Nanny, why is it that two buses always come at once?’ David asked in relation to something his Father had once complained of.

Barbara laughed at the question. ‘Because the Lord moves in mysterious ways!’ she teased playfully.

This obfuscatory comment puzzled the young boy, who began imagining how someone might move mysteriously.

‘What, like backwards?’ he asked innocently.

This made Barbara chuckle again. ‘No,’ she laughed. ‘It’s just a saying about how sometimes God does things that we simply can’t comprehend.'

David paused to consider what connection there might be between God and his original inquiry. ‘Does God run the buses then?’ he asked in confusion.

This response caused Barbara to laugh even harder. ‘Well, in a way I suppose he does!’ she replied with a giggle. ‘God “runs” everything. After all, the whole world is his creation’.

This remark inspired a moment of wonder inside the young boy’s mind. Even to someone of David’s age the creation of the whole world appeared to be quite an incredible achievement. Sensing this reaction, Barbara decided to capitalise upon it and enlighten him further.

‘God created the whole world and everything in it in just six days, six thousand years ago,’ she explained in a tone weighted by her humbled sense of awe.