This site is not maintained. Click here for the new website of Richard Dawkins.

← Letter from a Medical Doctor

Letter from a Medical Doctor - Comments

AtheistEgbert's Avatar Comment 1 by AtheistEgbert

Maybe he is a witchdoctor.

Tue, 31 Jan 2012 18:54:17 UTC | #913135

JackR's Avatar Comment 2 by JackR

Good Lord. That is... disturbing.

Tue, 31 Jan 2012 18:57:18 UTC | #913138

Alan4discussion's Avatar Comment 3 by Alan4discussion

I am an Indonesian medical doctor and I am interesting to learn further about evolution. I want to ask you several question related with evolution.

Could I recommend the reading of biology and evolutionary text books.

"The Magic of Reality", would be a good start! "The Selfish Gene" and "Climbing Mount Improbable" would provide a good follow up.

Some urgent reading on evolved antibiotic resistance in bacterial infections is also recommended.

Tue, 31 Jan 2012 19:02:30 UTC | #913142

Premiseless's Avatar Comment 4 by Premiseless

These are common theistic mindsets - comprehension white coat syndrome. However the evidence accounts for a condition, it must be due the white coat so you're really OK! Erm, I suspect we have a retreat to ill logic, for delusional or strategic motives.

When this guy puts on his coat the Earths blood pressure rises and tectonic plates inch there way towards the door!

Tue, 31 Jan 2012 19:03:57 UTC | #913143

potteryshard's Avatar Comment 5 by potteryshard

Naw... I think he's a wishdoctor. At least witchdoctors have to be astute enough to remember the dance.

Tue, 31 Jan 2012 19:04:43 UTC | #913144

elisa_fdm's Avatar Comment 6 by elisa_fdm

Disturbing as this is, I'm pretty sure he could be a doctor. I'm not sure about the curriculum for medical students in Indonesia, but even if it did include evolutionary biology, students wouldn't have to buy into the stuff in order to pass their exams.